• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

add'l information

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

momuvteen

IN regards to the "speed contest" ticket my son received... We live in a Denver suburb and I am looking for what to do in this case. He has been told he can plead "not guilty" and get off since the "witness" prob. cannot positvely ID him (and the other driver.) We don't want him to lie, but I'm worried about how severe the consequences might be if he pleaads 'guilty.' We contacted an attorney who wants $500. retainer, which seems excessive. Suggestions?? HELP!!! and THANK YOU

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Okay, 500 for a retainer is just fine, not excessive at all. What you should be worried about is what kind of example you are setting for your kid.

To commit perjury and lie because of a technicality????? WRONG and if it is discovered he perjured himself, look for another lawyer. court doesn't take perjury lightly.

As to your case, this is the statute:

42-4-1105. Speed contests. (1) No person shall engage in any motor vehicle speed or acceleration contest or exhibition of speed or acceleration on a highway, and no person shall aid or abet in any such motor vehicle speed or acceleration contest or exhibition on any highway.
(2) No person shall, for the purpose of facilitating or aiding or as an incident to any motor vehicle speed or acceleration contest upon a highway, in any manner obstruct or place any barricade or obstruction or assist or participate in placing any such barricade or obstruction upon any highway.