• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

after 2mnths being charged with misd. theft

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lyronn

:confused: What is the name of your state?MN
Okay I'm posting on the criminal side of this because I know that the company that fired me had every right to do so...no matter how much BS it is...I have to explain as best I can everything so bare with me..

I was a department Manager at a major discount department store. On July 25th I was called back to meet with the assett protection team for what I thought was a just a conversation. I realized about 10 minutes in that I was in trouble for something but did not know what... My only guess was that with some recent changes the store had made I had not filled out all the proper paperwork I should have for store bought items...I did however always have permission.

Anyway, Turned out that sometime back in MAY as the dept head I had purchased a store gift card(with store funds) to use for the department. It was used for my team and everything is fine so far. Then in June policies were updated and these kinds of purchases needed to be handled differently. I aparently, but really don't remember when, added more money to the gift card I already had. I was told durning my meeting that someone was sent to me to retreive said gift card when this happened...What I do remember was my manager coming over and asking for any gift cards we had, but she did not mention that I had done anything wrong or that there was any one card in particular that she wanted...I procceded to give her a gift card at that time. It was a while ago and can only assume I thought I gave her all she wanted.