• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Automobile repossess

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mitchell

Can you tell me the laws in TX on repossession of an automobile( Re: how many months behind do you have to be. I was one month. Also what are the laws on harassment from a company in which you owe money to.
Can they call you on sunday 7 times after you have told them that you have sent the payment.

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

As to your first question of repossession, I am going to give you a couple of avenues to research:

Try www.bbb.com
(this is the better business bureau)

Try going to the freeadvice.com homepage and click on state statutes and try texas and go from there.

As to creditors harassing you, I am going to give you an answer from a former bulletin board poster who left a great message:

1) Read the FDCPA (Fair Debt Collections Practices Act) at the following website: http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fdcpa/fdcpact.htm