• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Burying Bodies Backyard? (Los Angeles County, CA)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

kmcdaniel6

California, specifically: Los Angeles County

I know this is a strange question! Please forgive me -- I am a writer! :)

I need to know if there are any civil &/or criminal laws against burying a dead body on one's own property in Los Angeles County? &, if so, what are the possible penalties? If possible, I would especially like to know the law/penalties that were in effect during the 1960s.

Thanks!

HomeGuru

kmcdaniel6 said:

I need to know if there are any civil &/or criminal laws against burying a dead body on one's own property in Los Angeles County? &, if so, what are the possible penalties? If possible, I would especially like to know the law/penalties that were in effect during the 1960s.

Thanks!
**A: would these dead bodies be from a murder or something?

Son of Slam

kmcdaniel6 said:

Thanks!

I'm in San Bernardino County but would guess it's the same. I have buried many dead bodies on my property and no one has said a thing about it. I would guess that if someone seen me burying a live body I might be in trouble.

K

kmcdaniel6

In Response to HomeGuru:

Actually, it's going to be an accidental death, but, in the meantime, my character is going to be suspected of murder. I just need to know if he is going to be completely vindicated when it turns out to be an accidental death, or if he is going to have some trouble over the fact that he buried the body on his property? It's a possible loose end that I might need to tie up ...

calatty

California Health and Safety Code section 7054: