• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Car Was Broken Into... My Rights?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sungod916

What is the name of your state? California

Newbie here!
:)

My car was broken into back in April.
Couple thousand in damage and property stolen.

I received a letter from county stated he was convicted and they want me to write a letter stating how I feel and what I reccomend for sentancing.

They also ask to write a list of what was stolen and the total $$$ amount of damage of property?

Could the judge order them to pay me back? Or do I have to take it to civil court?

And do I need receipts, or is what is on the police report enough to get $$$ for CD's and backpack?

Any advice going into this?

CdwJava

sungod916 said:
What is the name of your state? California

Newbie here!
:)

My car was broken into back in April.
Couple thousand in damage and property stolen.

I received a letter from county stated he was convicted and they want me to write a letter stating how I feel and what I reccomend for sentancing.

They also ask to write a list of what was stolen and the total $$$ amount of damage of property?

Could the judge order them to pay me back? Or do I have to take it to civil court?

And do I need receipts, or is what is on the police report enough to get $$$ for CD's and backpack?

Any advice going into this?