• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Child Abuse

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jsmith82

What is the name of your state? MD

I am a teacher that was investigated for an inappropriate relationship with a student. The student's age at the time was 17. Her friends thought something was going on and reported to another teacher. I was questioned by the school system and the student was questioned, they found that the allegations were false. I was never contacted by the police.

My question is if I were seen in public after I no longer worked for the school system and the student is over 18 could I be charged with child abuse? or any other criminal act? A friend of mine said that there is no statue of limitations on child abuse and being together would be proof that the allegations were true.

Any advice you could provide would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Joshua S.

fairisfair

What is the name of your state? MD

I am a teacher that was investigated for an inappropriate relationship with a student. The student's age at the time was 17. Her friends thought something was going on and reported to another teacher. I was questioned by the school system and the student was questioned, they found that the allegations were false. I was never contacted by the police.

My question is if I were seen in public after I no longer worked for the school system and the student is over 18 could I be charged with child abuse? or any other criminal act? A friend of mine said that there is no statue of limitations on child abuse and being together would be proof that the allegations were true.

Thank you,

Joshua S.