• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Class 1 Misdemeanors in VA - please help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

legalquestion20

What is the name of your state? VA

I was served warrants for two class 1 misdemeanors in in VA:
18.2-96
18.2-178

I was released on my own recognizance and have a hearing date for March in General District Court.

What is the process that I should expect at the hearing? I read that it will be a judge--no jury.

I got into trouble for receiving stolen goods when I was a juvenile in CA. Can they find out about that?

What is the likelihood of me receiving probation or community service if this is my first offense in VA? I am a student with good grades,I have a full time job, and can get letters of rec. from my boss, pastor, teachers, etc.

How likely is that a request to expunge my record will be granted if I complete community service/restitution?

How bad is it to plead no contest?

Can I contact the court and request to see the evidence against me? Or do I need a lawyer to do that?

Is there a cutoff for income in requesting a court-appointed attorney?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Son of Slam

legalquestion20 said:
What is the name of your state? VA

I was served warrants for two class 1 misdemeanors in in VA:
18.2-96
18.2-178

I was released on my own recognizance and have a hearing date for March in General District Court.

What is the process that I should expect at the hearing? I read that it will be a judge--no jury.

I got into trouble for receiving stolen goods when I was a juvenile in CA. Can they find out about that?