• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Class B Misdemeanor - Theft of Services

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

ndsustudent2009

I'll start by filling in some background information that might help things make more sense.

I'm a college student at NDSU in Fargo, ND. Due to a lack of available parking permits ($110/year), I decided in my infinite wisdom to counterfeit one. I knew this was not a good idea, so it came as no surprise to me that I was eventually caught using it.

I used the permit from September 2007 until January 28th, 2008, when I was issued a parking citation (for not having a permit) as well as notice that I had to surrender the parking permit. I promptly paid the ticket (issued by the City of Fargo), met with campus police (who act as a branch office of the city police) and surrendered the parking permit the same day the citation was issued.

During this meeting (which was very informal, only one officer, no rights declaration, etc.), I asked if any further actions (criminal or university sanctions) would be pursued and was told that everything would be cleared if I paid the ticket and turned the parking permit over (which I did both). My father, who owns the car in which the permit was used, also asked the officer about this issue and was told the same thing. Feeling like the bad situation was behind me, I moved on.