• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Complicated E-Commerce Related Case

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

lexondre

I am a small business owner who is currently in midst of entering trial on a criminal charge stemmed from operations on an e-commerce project ran 2001 via E-bay.

The felony charges are "theft by swindle", stating that there are 100 or so complaints confirming that consumer goods were purchased online and not received.

My business has ran smoothly since late 1996, when I began doing web sites for businesses while still in high school. I worked as a ad sales rep for a city newspaper while attending college and running my business on the side for 3 years. I left my day job and ran my business full time with new international trade contacts for digital media and consumer electronics.

The operation involving the charge ran between Late April-Early June 2001, selling Playstation 2 systems and accessories. My supplier had extended my company credit terms after a few smooth pre-paid transactions.

With credit payment terms with my supplier I began to increase daily sales volume only immediately liable for freight forwarding expenses, auction listings, and fees from US customs.

One week after increasing sales volume I had seeked out a communications center to handle the 6-700 emails and customer service calls daily.

My corporation was receiving 100-200 orders per day for E-bay auction listings only which were paid for buy winning bidders usually 2-5 days following auction close. My shipping terms were "10-12 business days following payment" for standard freight. These terms were listed in the auction offering.