• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Conflicting Advice from Authorities

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

treeboss

What is the name of your state? Maryland
I have been pursuing a former employee/ex-fiance for over two months. He was representing my company (he is NOT on the documentation) and writing service orders, taking the deposits (even though some were made out to my company) and cashing the checks so he could maintain his growing drug habit.
In August, I put him out, paid first, last & security on and furnished an apartment for him. He already had a Failure to Appear warrant outstanding by the end of August (he "gave" my car to his dealer to use for the evening and into the next day and convinced me it was stolen, so I pressed charges, then he didn't show up for court so the case was dismissed!)
Now I have on file with the police, 6 checks totalling over $2,000 (with more coming), the apartment and all the contents have been cleared out , including the $2000 living room set, $600 TV, VCR, small appliances, etc. (the landlord says it was this person who took it all, although I am doubtful the landlord didn't just confiscate it all, not knowing it all belonged to me).