• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Consent (to have sex) and autism

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

the autie

I am a 24-year-old Indiana woman with autism (high-functioning). I recently learned on an autism message board that it is illegal to have sex with an autistic person in MOST countries, and am investigating to figure out which countries those are. In doing so, I determined that in several of the United States (if not all), it is illegal for people like me to marry and/or have sex and/or have children. Stupid Eugenics laws that are still on the books.

I don't rely on any social services, I am a college graduate, I am 24 years old and I have an above-average IQ, and yet statutes in many states claim I am not mentally competent enough to consent to have sex. I have been married for almost three years, and my husband and I have, indeed, had sex (as do nearly all married couples). I have not found any Indiana laws saying this is illegal, but we went to Michigan on vacation and I just read recently that it is illegal to have sex with an autistic person in Michigan. An autistic woman in Michigan actually is going through litigation to try and get married, but even if she wins that case, her husband could go to jail for 15 years if they have sex or even just do something sexual.