• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I need to get a lawyer? And Where?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

acb550

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? i'm in Wisconsin, but also New York

I was a teacher at a charter school in the Bronx (thus no union). I left the school to follow my wife out of state and the owner of the charter school was unhappy. (She has a history, not just to me of being cruel and vindictive-- if asked I can provide newspaper articles about a history of tension between staff and her and there was/is(?) at least one lawsuit filed against her by past staff). I thought everything was fine. I had students request to friend my on facebook. I know some teachers accept, some do not. I told my students to wait until they graduated, and if at that time, they wanted to be friends, I'd accept. Then I made a dumb mistake, I guess. In May, I started accepting friend requests-- I wanted to see them off in their senior year. I didn't initiate emails but I'd respond and ask about their college choices or how they liked prom, etc. I also came back from out of state to see them graduate. However, I was barred from graduation (taking place on a university campus). So I waited about 1/4 mile outside the building at the campus security checkpoint. 4 hours I waited for the graduation to finish so I could see and congratulate my students-- most of them I saw with their parents present. The head of school was not happy to see me. I received a letter in from a law firm representing the school that in my facebook I had inappropriate communications with student (and with one student I got too glib in answering questions about college, I admit, but nothing bad,