• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

EMS kidnapping

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

N

nysaemt

I am an advanced emergency medical technician in NY state and am wondering about being charged with kidnapping a patient. There are times when a patient wants to be taken to a hospital that is inappropriate and cannot care for them properly, but no matter how hard I try to explain to them that they need to go to a different facility and they may die at the facility they choose, they won't agree. My questions is, can I be charged with, or sued for, false imprisonment/kidnapping if I take them to a hospital that they don't want to go to, but I know will be able to better treat them?

M

Mike101

Take them where they want to go. If you tell them that if you take them to the facility they want to go to that they may die, so you need to take them to this other one. That may be looked at as they aren't going to die if they go to the one you want them to go to. If they go to the one you want them to go to and then die anyway that could open you up to some legal action. Civil and criminal. If your hospital is further away then their choice can you say for sure that they would not have died if you got them to their hospital a minute sooner? You can't and a question like that ends up being a question for a jury.

Beth3

nysaemt, your question should be put to your management team who should research it with their legal counsel. I can see the potential for liabilty for taking a patient to a facility they don't wish to go to, as well as taking them to a facility (even at their insistance) that you know will be unable to treat them properly.