• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Entering state park after posted hours Misdemeanor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

lesculptor

North Carolina

I am a 22 year old student at NC State university. I was going to a state park in Raleigh for a fraternity party. My fraternity had rented a cabin for the night. I arrived at the park gate at 8:53 pm to find it closed (the park closes at 9:00pm), an officer was standing at the gate and I told him that I was with the fraternity party. He said the park was closed and that I could not go in. I drove around to the other entrance to find that gate closed too. The officer appeared again and I explained that my fraternity had a permit to be in the park after hours. He said I could not come in. He then told me to call one of the other people in my fraternity and have them come to the gate to talk to him. I tried to call some of the other guys but no one was answering their phones.
I waited around 30 minutes and then I decided that since we had a permit that I should be allowed in. I drove around the gate and entered the park. The officer pulled me over and gave me a uniform citation. I understand that I should not have entered the park but the park was also closed early for some reason. If it had not closed early there would have been no problem.