• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Failure to Get a Driver's License After Moving, Criminal Misdemeanor - Florida State

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

satpra

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FL

My DL is from Maryland valid till 2014. I moved to Florida for work about 1 year ago and have a home here. Since I am a consultant (working on a US work visa), I travel for my job. I have been traveling a lot for the last 1 year ( almost every month). Mostly International (out of USA). I am not sure when I may have to relocate to a different city/state. Hence did not take FL license.

Recently I was driving a rented vehicle to Key West and the officer stopped me for speeding (74 on a 55 mph). I am not sure if I was that fast. He gave me two citations. one for speeding and the other for Florida State Statute 322.031(1) for not having a FL license since I was working here for over 1 year. For the 322.031(1), I am required to appear in a court near Key West (over 300 miles from my place).

Had I known about this law, I would have taken my FL license long time ago.

Now I have to appear in court. As it appears, I did not comply with this law, what are the penalties (Minimum and Maximum)?

I am willing to pay the fine etc. Is there a way to avoid going to court and settle it by paying fine.

Will this appear on my record as Criminal offence? If yes, what is the impact? This seems to be a minor traffic violation.. I am still surprised that this is considered criminal.

Is there any way that this can be converted into a non-criminal offence?

Any reference that any of you may have to previous cases (with end result) like this will be greatly appreciated.