• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Father misuses my personal information for tax fraud.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

eerelations

We will need somewhat more information than this, including but not limited to the name of your state, before we can advise you.

SaraMiller96

I live in California. Here is some background info.
I'm a college student who is an aspiring lawyer.
My father does not work nor has he ever. (I have documented proof)
This year he gave out my sibling, his, and my information to a scam artist in hopes of getting a tax refund he does not deserve. Apparently, the man screwed him over and took the tax return money.
This left me kind of screwed up with my financial aid, but it was taken care of after he filed for identity theft with IRS.

However, I'm nervous that he will do something like this again. I have a recording that he does not know talking about his crime of being an accomplice. Can I use this evidence to become an independent on my fasfa.
(He always threatens to not provide his info for the incoming year when he gets mad at me)
I mean they should be able to look back and see he NEVER worked/Filed taxes, right?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I live in California. Here is some background info.
I'm a college student who is an aspiring lawyer.
My father does not work nor has he ever. (I have documented proof)
This year he gave out my sibling, his, and my information to a scam artist in hopes of getting a tax refund he does not deserve. Apparently, the man screwed him over and took the tax return money.
This left me kind of screwed up with my financial aid, but it was taken care of after he filed for identity theft with IRS.