• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Felony Identity Theft Case

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

student19

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California

Hi everyone, I am an international student going to a college in U.S with F-1 visa.

Recently, I have been investigated and filed a case relating to identity theft which amounts total to $4,000 and the police says it is a felony. I am still waiting on District Attorney's decision (denial or summon for arraignment).

Here is my case: I was naive enough to believe in one of my acquittance in native country that he could set up a virtual bank account for me to buy things I like but I have to pay him $50 and there will be no harm for any victims (because it is virtual). I agree just out of curiosity and want to test it out. I was careful enough to purchase only e-giftcode or online items that I never bother to use.

However, a few weeks after, police said that I will soon be reviewed by DA for the case I committed. I talked to him and partly admitted my guilt, adding that I wasn't aware that the bank account actually belongs to a real person and some of the purchases I didn't make.

Please note that: I wasn't even using any of those gift codes, I just ordered them out of curiosity. I wasn't aware that the bank account belongs to an actual victim. There were some orders that were claimed to be made from my laptop which I had no idea. Perhaps the guy hacked into my laptop and used it as a prank to put more charges on me? Would the judge believe that? I am a good student and have a clean record with good academic standing.