• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Firearms restoration for a federal offender?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

raven2201

I am a vermont resident who was convicted of "False statement to a federal firearms dealer". This was handled in federal court. It was because I was charged for purchasing a firearm for someone not legally able to. The person was 18 and you have to be 21 years old. It came about because the weapon was stolen and I immediately reported it to my local police, FBI and ATF. Nothing was done about the stolen firearm, instead I was charged with a federal offense. I ended up being sentenced to 6 months of probation and 6 months of house arrest. I have been off from probation for about 2 years now.

I was informed that congress will not fund the atf for granting pardons and was told my only option is a presidential pardon. I am wondering if there are any new laws or whatever that have been passed that may help me with getting back my rights to purchase/possess a firearm again. I personally think a presidential pardon is next to impossible to get. I know that any kind of state pardon wont affect my federal conviction and loss of firearms rights so im hoping someone here can give me some insight on what I can do. I am not a violent offender so there has to be something that could help me.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

JETX

I was charged with a federal offense. I ended up being sentenced to 6 months of probation and 6 months of house arrest.

I am wondering if there are any new laws or whatever that have been passed that may help me with getting back my rights to purchase/possess a firearm again
Nope......