• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I am being investigated for impersonating an officer.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Legal122

Texas

Here the story:

First I was a police officer two weeks ago and recently resigned, and was a cop in the city i am being investigated in. I was in a fast food line drive through when I see someone throw a lot of trash out their window who also was in line. I absolutely hate littering so I went and picked it up and gave it back to the woman.

This pissed her boyfriend off so as I was walking back to my truck he got outside and cussed me out and was acting aggressive. So I said exactly this, "I used to be a police officer" I then got back in my truck.
They started following me when I left so I did something very stupid and held a pair of handcuffs out the window for about 2 seconds before putting them back away.
I then left to go home, but a police car pulled me over because the woman had called the cops. I stopped and talked to both officers I knew. I told them what I just typed. The woman told the police that I said, "I am a cop." This is not true as I said, "I used to be a cop" in an attempt to get them to leave me alone.

Apparently the woman went to the police station and filed charges against me for impersonating a police officer. The officer I was talking to said that a report would be written and that it would be investigated.
It is a third degree felony, I may be charged with because of her testimony. I made sure the cop that took my testimony knew that I said "I used to be a cop".
Im a Texas resident.

§ 37.11. IMPERSONATING PUBLIC SERVANT. (a) A person commits an offense if he: