• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

illegal to be bad employee?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

klendy

What is the name of your state? MT

I was a bookkeeper. I was responsible for writing off bad debts.
I wrote off debts without authorization.My old employer is now charging me with a crime for doing so. I gained nothing for these actions and admit it was wrong. I really had no idea that it was illegal. What do I do?

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

klendy said:
What is the name of your state? MT

I was a bookkeeper. I was responsible for writing off bad debts.
I wrote off debts without authorization.My old employer is now charging me with a crime for doing so. I gained nothing for these actions and admit it was wrong. I really had no idea that it was illegal. What do I do?

My response:

Your post makes no sense.

You said, "I was responsible for writing off bad debts." Then, in the next breath you said, "I wrote off debts without authorization."

How does one have a "responsibility" to do something for which they have received no "authorization"?

IAAL

K

klendy

bad employee?

I was the one that made the entries but with spoken authorization from our general manager.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

Re: bad employee?

klendy said:
I was the one that made the entries but with spoken authorization from our general manager.

My response: