• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I'm worried I may be stalked again...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

S

ScaredAgain

I have been fending off advances from an older man for about two months now, and it just keeps on getting worse. I'm 19 and this man is 40; he's a reserve police officer who is a security guard part-time at my place of work. I'm scared of what he might do if we were alone together because he won't keep his hands off of me in public, he has hugged me without my consent, put his arms around me, rubbed my shoulders regardless of the fact that I asked him to stop. He won't leave me alone, and when I don't show up for work he asks others where I am, what I'm doing...etc. I have made it clear on several occasions that I do not want relationship with him, I don't want to be friends with him, and that I don't really have any desire to talk to him, but nothing works. I know I could easily get him fired, but I'm afraid of what he might do if to me if that happened. I would venture to say that if in fact I was caught alone with this man, I could easily see him try to do something stupid, like trying to rape me. I'm really scared and I need to know what I could do legally to stop this. I'm tired of the harrassment and perverted lines he tries to feed me. I am ready to seriously take action, so any help would be appreciated.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

My response:

If you're in that much fear, then you shouldn't concern yourself with his job status - whether he's a guard or a real cop - neither of which is your concern. Your concern is your well-being and safety.

He has committed an assault and battery upon you. Yes, he has.