• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Implied Permission?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

woodyvt

Vermont

Is implied permission by one police department an affirmative defense against being charged by another police department for the same activity?

I ride a motorized bicycle. I have been riding this motorized bike for two years and have been witnessed hundreds of times by the police department of the city where I live. I have had direct verbal contact with the city police numerous times riding this bike and have been allowed to continue to ride it.
I was recently stopped by a state police officer and was given a criminal DLS citation. I was arraigned yesterday.
If one police department interpreting a statute allows me to ride the motorized bike, how can I be prosecuted by another police department interpreting the same statute differently?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Vermont

Is implied permission by one police department an affirmative defense against being charged by another police department for the same activity?

Nope - there is no requirement that you be cited for everything you do wrong.

Some Random Guy

Implied permission won't even prevent those same officers from the first police department from citing you at a later time.

If one police department interpreting a statute allows me to ride the motorized bike, how can I be prosecuted by another police department interpreting the same statute differently?
You can be cited by any police officer who believes you to be violating the law. The judge will interpret the statute and determine if you did in fact violate the law.