• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

invasion of privacy and faked facebook profile

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

EasternOrigin44

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

When I was a undergraduate, I was being taped by a hidden camera in the bathroom at a school library. That school has prior incidences of hidden camera where the athlete was being taped in public restroom and the videos ended up being circulated online. The incidence was discussed by the major newspapers across the nation.

I was not aware of the wrongdoing until 2 years later, when I was in a Ph.D program, I learned what happened when I overheard my coworkers gossip among themselves regarding the camera incidences. I did not have great relation with the coworkers at that time, and several of them must have decided to post the video on several major foreign languages websites.

It appeared that the perpetrator(s) must have know me personally or through regular school gossip, and was determined to cause serious damage to both me and my family. He or she decided to email the spy videos to my acquaintances , and set up a fake profile on facebook and xanga, in which my phone number and addresses are being published.

I need to find out whether this transgression is punishable by criminal law, and really appreciate if someone can tell me more about the current law regarding video voyeurism

justalayman