• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Loud/Noisy Party

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

joculardre

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? North Dakota
My name is Andre and I'm a student at the University of North Dakota. This past weekend, I received a citation for a loud party, in the backyard of a house of which I am not a tenant of. These citations were given out to everyone there, and the incident occurred at about 4 p.m.. 49 citations were issued to students attending this party, however the students that fled into the house and hid got off without a citation. So, the people that cooperated with law enforcement were punished, but the home owners and anyone else barricaded in the house were not. Is there any reasonable defense to pleading not guilty (which I already have)? There were no noise complaints called in by civilians, it was an officer driving by that heard it.Take into consideration it was roughly 2 blocks from campus, it was mid-day, I do not live at the residence, and I was only at the party for about 30 minutes.

Here is the city ordinance-
9-0110. - Noisy party or gathering.
(1)
No person shall participate in any party or gathering consisting of two (2) or more people when said party or gathering gives rise to unreasonable noise likely to cause significant discomfort or annoyance to a reasonable person of normal sensitivities present in the area, in consideration of the time of day and the residential character of said area or building.
(2)