• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Mess of Underage drinking charges & supposed missed court date

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

HurtinBadly

I am in Rutherford County (Murfreesboro, Tennessee). I'm a 20 year old student at MTSU, and have recently got my second underage alcohol comsumption charge. That's not the major issue here, the following is:

I had court back in September '05 for my first drinking underage charge (and my first charge ever, in this county). When I was in court that morning, waiting for the judge to call my name, I see the police officer who gave me the charge talking to another officer and pointing at me. The other officer then walks over to me and handcuffs me, saying there is a warrant out for my arrest. The other officer (the one who gave me the underage consumption charge) tells me that he just served a warrant on me for a felony tampering with evidence charge (more on this later). So I go in front of the judge for the underage charge, and he gives me a retirement (" 11/29 ") and says if I do community service and attend AA meetings, then the charge will go away after 11mo. & 29 days. He also set me a court date for Dec. 5, 2005, as a "check in" date to see how I was coming along. After seeing the judge I got taken to the sheriff's dept. and had to post $3000 bail for the tampering with evidence charge.