• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Michigan MIP

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

samihagarr

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Michigan

I was issued a MIP in Ottawa County in Michigan. I am 20 years old. Should I plead guilty or not guilty in order to get placed into the diversion program? Should I try and talk to the prosecuting attorney or the judge before the arraignment? I have plans on studying abroad this summer, of going to grad school and other plans that this would totally mess up. I am a great student and this incident was very uncharacteristic of me. How is this going to play out if I plead guilty or if i choose to plead not guilty? What do I do?

quincy

Well, you could not have picked a worse county in Michigan to get ticketed for an MIP. I STRONGLY suggest you get an attorney to help you with this.

In Ottawa County, what you are looking at with your MIP is either a misdemeanor conviction (which can adversely affect your loans, insurance, educational plans, employment opportunities, travel) OR, if this MIP is your first offense, you are looking at a diversion program with some of the toughest diversion terms in Michigan to satisfy, including a probationary period of up to two years.