• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

petit theft in nyc

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mnc

I was fired for theft for less than $ 250 worth of things. Basically I was being ringed up by another coworker that placed things in my bag that she claimed she paid for and asked me to place her things in her locker but her locker was locked so I left it in the locker that I had used and told her it was in there , but the store claimed I walked out with the items when I never did. I have a court date in a couple of weeks , this is my first time ever being accused or anything , I live in New York City , I just need an opinion or advice on how to deal with this , I was wondering if an ACD will help or what kind of disposition would I be able to offer or get , I'm a college student and don't want a record because it will mess my up my career and in me getting licensed , class a misdemeanor. I signed and wrote my statement taking responsibility for what I did. I wasn't intentionally aware of what that other coworker was doing , I need an advice soon. I have a great reputation with most of my coworkers but this one , they said I could use them as references even one of my supervisor as well , I just really don't want a record because of this , I was also told I was doing fraudulent returns but I didn't know her items were stolen , and she paid for my items with the store credit from the returns , everyone was nice to me and I was nice to everyone there but I wasn't aware of any of these things intentionally .

quincy