• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Shoplifting and F-1 visa

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mmm2

NEW YORK Manhattan

I was charged with petty larceny for shoplifting in Manhattan. I am a student on an F-1 visa. My court date is in August at Midtown Community Court. It's next to impossible for me to afford a lawyer.

1. Is Legal Aid Society a good idea or should I work at gathering money from everywhere?
2. Can I have my court date moved up from August to say June? If so, how?
3. What is a better solution for me considering I am an international student and will need to go through immigration desks at airports every 6 months or so: ACD or Disorderly Conduct?
4. Is there a possibility that I can negotiate with the store for charges to be dropped? It is a big chain departmental store in Manhattan.
5. When can I ideally travel out of the country so as to be able to return with ease?
6. I have not yet received a civil demand letter. Should I do something? If I get one, must I pay?

Proserpina

NEW YORK Manhattan

I was charged with petty larceny for shoplifting in Manhattan. I am a student on an F-1 visa. My court date is in August at Midtown Community Court. It's next to impossible for me to afford a lawyer.

1. Is Legal Aid Society a good idea or should I work at gathering money from everywhere?

You can try Legal Aid, sure. They might not want to take the case though.
Why?
3. What is a better solution for me considering I am an international student and will need to go through immigration desks at airports every 6 months or so: ACD or Disorderly Conduct?
That's your choice - we can't guess for you.