• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

STATUE OF LIMITATIONS

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

E

EQUINTO

WHAT IS THE STATUE OF LIMITAIONS IN MASSACHUSETTS FOR ARMED ROBBERY? A FRIEND AND I WERE WATCHING A MOVIE AND NEED THIS QUESTIONS ANSWERED TO SETTLE OUR DEBATE! THANK YOU.......(BESIDES, I KNOW I AM RIGHT...LOL LOL)

L

lawrat

I am a law school graduate. What I offer is mere information, not to be construed as forming an attorney client relationship.

Well, the police have a reasonable time period with which to charge you for a felony like armed robbery. So.....unlike a civil trial, that definite of time like 1 year doesn't exist for a STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.

It also depends on if you are talking about an arrest warrant or the speedy trial right via the 6th amendment.
In Massachusetts,here is the code defining armed robbery:

GENERAL LAWS OF MASSACHUSETTS
PART IV.
CRIMES, PUNISHMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS IN CRIMINAL CASES.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TITLE I.
CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CHAPTER 265. CRIMES AGAINST THE PERSON.

Chapter 265: Section 17. Armed robbery; punishment.