• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

suspnd license for not returning plates!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

IntlStudent

What is the name of your state? Virginia
So heres the deal. I went to DMV y'day to get my license renewed since i just turned 25 about 4 days ago. I go there, with all my documents and was in for a rude shock to realize that my license had been suspended since december 2002.
In december 2002, a friend of mine was helping me sell my vehicle and apparently didnt return the license plates. And i was out of the country till january 2004. So i must have missed the mail from dmv or something.
in any case, i have been driving since 2004 january, and luckily have never been pulled over, or it could have been worse.
now, what i would like to know is, is there any way i can get out of this? will this be on my permanent record?
can they suspend a license for not turning in license plates? is it excusable? any suggestions will be greatly appreiciated! I'm in the process of looking for a job and moving out of state, so this is the last thing i would need!
the dmv tells me the only option i have is to pay the 500$ reinstatement fee. and i just dont have that kind of money now. PLZ HELP!!!

seniorjudge

Q: is there any way i can get out of this?

A: Pay the fine and costs.

Q: will this be on my permanent record?

A: Yes.

Q: can they suspend a license for not turning in license plates?

A: Yes.

Q: is it excusable?

A: No.

IntlStudent

"will this be on my permanent record"
yes

is there any way i can get it expunged? i mean, can i prove it that it was'nt totally my fault. I wasnt even in the country when i got my license suspended...

Last edited:

seniorjudge