• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

theft

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

J

Jewel0604

What is the name of your state? Texas
I have been charged with a state jail felony offense for stealing from an employer. This happened 2 years ago and is just now surfacing. Is it possible that because I have no prior record or offenses that I can just get probation for this? Please explain to me what could possibly happen.
*this is my first time on this board, so be gentle.

enjay

Anything is possible, but much of it depends on how much you stole and the circumstances surrounding the theft.

HomeGuru

Judging from your charge, it is serious, otherwise it would have been a lesser offense than a felony. Please provide more details as to the items stolen, the value and the circumstances.

J

Jewel0604

let me give more details to help discuss this further.
*thanks in advance!

the items were clothing (I was employed at a clothing store)
the amount was around $1500. I was not arrested or caught. I was questioned and admitted to it, then i was let go (fired). This was in July 2001...and the case is just now coming up in June.

HomeGuru

Jewel0604 said:
let me give more details to help discuss this further.
*thanks in advance!

the items were clothing (I was employed at a clothing store)
the amount was around $1500. I was not arrested or caught. I was questioned and admitted to it, then i was let go (fired). This was in July 2001...and the case is just now coming up in June.
**A: are you a famous actress or singer?

J

Jewel0604

no, i am not....however, i wonder if it would help in this situation.