• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trespassers !

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

phairest

Dallas, TX

Howdy all- I'm a resident and board member for a condo community here in Dallas. The main issue we have is that we're the only community on the block with a pool, and non-resident kids are invading our community to get to it. I wouldn't care so much if this was an occasional occurrence or if they had any manners, but that's not the case; they come in droves and then are screaming, being destructive, littering, and on top of all that there are liability concerns as well. Summer is ramping up so I need to nip this in the bud fast, so please advise. FYI we have a fence around the entire property, another fence around the pool, and 'private property - no trespassing' signs are posted throughout.

I'd like to just call the cops- can I do that since our fences/signs make it pretty obvious they shouldn't be there, or does a resident actually have to confront them before the cops could intervene? For that matter, if the cops came out is it likely they'd be arrested, or ticketed, or what? Assuming they would be arrested/ticketed, for what exactly- simple/defiant/criminal trespassing (what's the difference btw), destruction of property, criminal mischief... anything else might apply here? Also, my home's balcony has a decent view of the pool area- is it advisable for me to video prior to calling cops for use as evidence? And, anything else you think would be relevant, please do tell.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

swalsh411

I wouldn't be so cavalier about even the occassional minor tresspassing and getting into your pool. The liability issue here is huge.