• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Trespassing Ticket please help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jessicaann

I was recently caught trespassing on abandoned property in Highland Park, Michigan. I received a misdemeanor ticket and a court date. I don't know if i should ask for a plea or not. I am a photography student, when we arrived on the property, an abandoned school, there were no "no trespassing" signs anywhere, the doors and windows were all wide open. I had no idea it was owned by someone. We were not seen inside the building, the police stopped us as we were walking around the outside of the property.
I have a clean record. I don't know if i should ask for a plea and hope they don't charge me the maximum fine and put this on my record, or if I should fight it because of the circumstances. What should I do?

quincy

I was recently caught trespassing on abandoned property in Highland Park, Michigan. I received a misdemeanor ticket and a court date. I don't know if i should ask for a plea or not. I am a photography student, when we arrived on the property, an abandoned school, there were no "no trespassing" signs anywhere, the doors and windows were all wide open. I had no idea it was owned by someone. We were not seen inside the building, the police stopped us as we were walking around the outside of the property.
I have a clean record. I don't know if i should ask for a plea and hope they don't charge me the maximum fine and put this on my record, or if I should fight it because of the circumstances. What should I do?
If this is your first offense, you will, more than likely, be offered diversion, to keep the misdemeanor off your criminal record.