• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Victim of burglary felony: upcoming restitution hearing

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sdlegal

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

I am a business owner and was the victim of a burglary. The criminal was caught and pleaded guilty. I was informed by the district attorney that I need to provide an itemization of my losses to prove my financial loss and to secure an order of restitution. My question is, if I have already been reimbursed (not fully but partially) by my insurance company, what should I list for the losses? Some of the stolen items were property of others which I don't have receipts for (I do have the original owner information). Also, the damage caused to my business almost put me under (both emotionally and financially due to lost customers). How do you put a price on that? I also had to work double overtime myself for weeks but as the business owner I don't get paid hourly so I have no way to provide documentation on that.

In other words, what can I submit here? Thank you in advance for the reply!

Last edited:

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA