• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What is Best Way to Resolve WAs?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

peter2207

What is the name of your state? NJ

I’m a social worker who has a client with legal troubles. His name is "Jim"; he is a black male, mid 20's, 6'7", large build. He has diagnoses of schizophrenia and depression. He's had a tough life..locale of father of origin is unknown, drug addict mother, and a history of family members taking advantage of him. He's a great guy and really is trying hard to put his life back together. He is mild-mannered and not a violent person. I took a liking to the guy and was trying to get him a decent job; he has a CDL driver's license but he told me his driver's license is currently suspended.

So I checked with DMV and found out he had three low-amount bounced checks to resolve, along with a summons issued by AA Police Department. Well, I checked with the PD and found the summons now has a WA issued for it. So I spoke with the investigating detective...the WA was issued because Jim failed to appear in court to answer the charge of issuing a bad check for $600 in order to open a bank account, a comparatively minor offense. "Fortunately," this appears to be the worst of Jim's legal problems.