• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What direction to take?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

D

Drummond

What is the name of your state? NY, Jefferson County

This is such an odd one I wasn't even sure where to post it.

I am a college student who recently completed a major part of my course of study (IT). Being in college means I am fairly dependent on student loans for survival and do alright, but have no other real income to draw from.

My girlfriend and mother of my child had lost her position as a certified nursing assistant in one of the local medical facilities for the aged and only recently was hired at another on a casual, on-call basis. In this area the pay for that position is much lower than the national average so she was utilizing a HUD program to help pay the rent.

I have a different physical adddress in the same area. We decided it was in our best interest not to reside together because I can't help her financially the way I want to while I am in school and she can get some rent assistance while we get back on our feet. If I were to live with her HUD would dramatically increase the amount of rent she/we would have to pay.

She also has a daughter from a previous relationship. Her ex and his wife live in the same county for visitation purposes. However, they do not get along and this has been the root of some of the problems we are now facing.