• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

youthful offender status and job applications

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

?teacher?

my name is brian and my state is New York. When i was 17, 10 years ago, i was arrested and convicted of criminal possession of stolen property. a friend of mine and i were drunk one night at the start of college and we stole a couple of plastic signs off of businesses. we met with the DA in this small college town and he said that since i was only 17 he was going to process this as youthful offender status so that the file would be sealed. my question is, i have not been in trouble with the law since but now its 10 years later and im a certified teacher in ny but im applying for jobs. on the application it asks if youve ever been convicted of a crime and if so what is the situation. my question is, do i have to report that ive been convicted of a crime if the file is sealed and it was a youthful offender status. i dont want this incident 10 years ago to prevent me from getting a job. please help. also, if this is not the proper place to post, please tell me where.

?teacher?

any help or suggestions? i vaguely remember when this happened that they were going to discard my fingerprints and remove everything if i did not get into trouble for 6 months. something like that..please help

Ohiogal

Queen Bee
Magic55, be very very quiet.
You are wrong.
If you are asked if you have ever been convicted or found guilty of a crime you have to disclose but you also state that as a juvenile you were stupid and did yadda yadda yadda and it was sealed to your knowledge since you haven't been in trouble.