• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Disobeying Park Sign (Sec:1-03 Sub:C2)

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

abc_bed

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

Hello,

I was recently walking in the park around 5:25PM (it was already dark) when two police officers stopped me and issued a summon for disobeying park sign (sec:1-03 sub:C2 misdemeanor:"Disobey Park Sign", summon part: AR6). Apparently there is a sign, which I didn't see, stating that that particular road is closed after sunset.

Since it is my first time getting a summon I'd like to ask your advice. Should I plead guilty/not-guilty ? Will I get a fine / criminal record ?

Thanks in advance.

Proseguru

If you think that this is trivial, think again. It is punishable by jail time & it is not a civil infraction but a criminal charge.

You need a lawyer. Tell your lawyer you did not see the sign. See what he says.

You Are Guilty

Go back and check the sign to see if that road was truly closed at the time you were ticketed. (If not, get lots of pictures). Either way, plead not guilty.

Go to court, see what deal they are offering. While technically a potential misdemeanor, you'll likely be offered anything from an ACD to a discon/some other "violation" (which is not considered a "crime"). See what strikes your fancy. If you don't like any of the deals, just tell the judge you'd like to come back in a month so you can retain a lawyer - then do it.

Good luck, and let us know how it goes.

abc_bed

Thanks for replies.

The road was not closed just a sign on the top of the tree (or pipe) which is hard to notice in the dark.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney