• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

PA Zoning board. PLEASE HELP!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Timaaay

Hi to all. I'm hoping someone may be able to help or offer some insight with my local Zoning board. I am a Federally licensed Amateur Radio operator. I moved to PA a few years ago. I am involved in MARS (Military Axillary Radio System), I served as a direct link to Andrews Air Force Base during providing emergency communications after the disaster in Haiti. We also help the military and soldiers by providing a network of around-the-clock posts to "patch" soldiers (throughout the world) through and make phone lines available for them to call loved ones from anywhere they may be. I'm involved in RACES (Radio Amateur Civil Emergency System) and occasionally use Amateur Radio for enjoyment as a hobby. This may become complicated so I'll be as short and accurate as I am able.
My story: In August, 2010, I submitted a zoning permit to erect a 70 foot antenna support structure on my 2+ acre, heavily wooded lot. This is quite conservative size as it is just above tree level. The antennas MUST be above tree level to be effective (many tests were done to come to this conclusion). I was verbally rejected and told "no antenna towers are allowed on residential lots." I advised the board that Federal law (known as PRB-1) FCC: Wireless Services: Amateur Radio Service: Releases: PRB-1
Federal Code of Regulations 47CFR §97.15 47 CFR §97.15(b) (1985)
and PA State Senate bill 884 (act 88) PA Act 88
state they may not regulate or preclude Amateur Radio antennas or communication and MUST reasonably accommodate me.