• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

zip code and insurance rates

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikekor

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CT
I have been a resident of East Haven CT for 20years. East haven zip is 06512. My area of EH, for reasons unclear as yet, is under zip 06513. The post office says it is because my part of east haven is serviced by a new haven post office??This zip is for town of New Haven. This discrepancy puts me in a higher risk group for auto insurance with my new carrier, to the tune of $300 dollars. How do i get my zip code changed and get out of the higher risk class?? I live in a beautiful residential neighborhood, but i am paying inner city insurance rates.

ecmst12

Insurance rates have nothing to do with whether your zip code is considered urban or suburban or "nice" or "ghetto". It is simply based on the number of claims filed from people who live in that zip code historically. Insurance rates are a numbers game, pure and simple. It's all about the statistics.

mikekor

Insurance rates have nothing to do with whether your zip code is considered urban or suburban or "nice" or "ghetto". It is simply based on the number of claims filed from people who live in that zip code historically. Insurance rates are a numbers game, pure and simple. It's all about the statistics.
I find it hard to believe that my suburb has more claims than the city of New Haven, especially with regard to motorcycle insurance and the risks of owning one in my town.

mikekor

This is a nonsensical statement...