• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Damage due to Negligence of the university

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mebidur

Ontario, Canada

Hi I am an international student. I applied to the University Of Windsor for admission to their Masters program. On July 1, they sent me a offer letter with funding information enough to cover my tuition.

This was a great opportunity for me, so, I started preparing for the student visa application. I hurried because I had very little time to prepare everything. I resigned from my job, paid the bank to get some loan processed to cover the remaining expenses, paid to get appointment for medical test.

Now, after 4 days of the initial offer, they sent me an email stating that the initial offer I got was due to an error, and it was incorrect. They sent me another offer with no financial aid.

This has caused a lot of emotional damage to me and my family. I can't afford their program without funding, and the incorrect information they sent me caused damage to my career, loss of money, and most importantly a lot of psychological torture to me and my family.

Can I sue the university under the tort law or any other Canadian law. I have paid their application fee so that my application gets properly processed. So, can I claim the compensation for the damage done due to their negligence? Also, I am currently out of Canada and am not a Canadian either, so, is it possible to sue them from abroad?

FlyingRon

The US still hasn't annexed Canada. This is US law forum only.