• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Injured at School, Do I have a case?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bakerchic55

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Arizona

I work in a lab for credit at a state university, and one day while working (I was cleaning glassware for the professor I worked under) a beaker fell and shattered which ended up cutting my finger. The lab didn't practice any safety protocol other than giving me a band aid from a first aid kit. The band aid ended up not being sterile and about 4 days later I ended up in the hospital with a horrible infection in the cut finger and had to have emergency surgery. During surgery they found out that the glass had cut through two tendons and required another surgery, with a possible third surgery after healing. My hand is permanently injured as a result, my finger will never have the same range of motion which is pretty dreadful because it is my dominant hand as well as I wanted to have a career in either medicine or research which utilizes a lot of intricate hand movements. My medical bills totaled 17k for the two surgeries as well as hospital stay, my insurance may adjust that to a lower amount though, they're still working on it. I'm a college student and I'm not technically employed by the college I just work in the lab in order to receive credit and grade. Do I have a case?

ecmst12

Well, I see you manipulated the facts. What really happened is YOU dropped the beaker, so it was your negligence that led to your injury, right?

bakerchic55