• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

OWS Protestor -- hit a cop

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DuckSoup

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? rather not say

Hi forum,

I am a recent vet - cannot find a job so decided to go to a OWS "rally".

Cop comes by and says we need to move so I started moving away. Well, it was not fast enough for the cop (figured I would just trample people I guess). So he pulls out his taser and shoots...one lead hit me the other missed so no zap zap zap. He did this with my back facing him.

So, I turn around to talk to him and he's pulling out another taser (how many do they carry?). So I knock him down, he's out & bleeding. I leave.

Should I turn myself in? I don't think I did anything wrong but self defense ... I was complying with his order and he wanted to just use his gadget I think. Cops don't have the right to just taser people for no good reason. He just tried to on a guy who has better hand to hand combat skills than he has with the expected result.

I don't think it would matter if I turned myself in or not as far as any criminal charges--it was self-defense plain and simple. Is this correct?

swalsh411

It wasn't self defense. You failed to comply with a lawful order.

Now, are you looking to continue to lie to yourself and say it was self defense or do you want to do the right thing? If it's the former then you might as well not do anything and pray you don't get caught.

Furthermore I suspect the officer would have a very different story to tell.

Antigone*

It wasn't self defense. You failed to comply with a lawful order.