• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Please help, i get sued by a customer

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

than_tan2003

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois

I am a manager in a small nail salon in IL, recently i got a letter from an attorney regarding a lawsuit file against my business (I don't have insurance for my business).

The client come to this nail salon to get a pedicure from 1 of mine nail tech, she paid and left (there is no complain or anything). She came back 2 days later and said her heels hurts and she will go she the doctor and file a lawsuit against us. Which she does, i'm having a report from her foot doctor and they said he 2 heels skin damaged.

As in the report, she claims that we use the grating tools to buff her feet tills it bleed. The tech who did her pedicure said she was doing like she was doing to other customer, and there is no bleeding or anything during the procedure. (and i do believe her since if the customer get bleed during a pedicure, that a big big problem i should be notify right away or usually a customer will yell out and complain right away, but in this case, nothing going on, on that date).

I get a letter from the court summon me, and they claims to sue me $10K. I know i have to report to court. My question is that:

1. Is there any advice or someone have this kind of problem before.

2. This is a new business, and i don't have that much of money and i know hire an attorney is expensive, is there a free attorney from the court house.

3. What is the chance that i can win this sue.

Please help me,
ryan

tranquility

You don't really have a legal question so much as a factual one, what happened?