• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Police shooting.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TheAlmightyDada

Hello,

I am an Author, and I’m not even based in the US. So there will be many more questions than answers from me. I hope that's OK. I know some forums frown on that behaviour.
With that being said… Here is my first Question:

The Character in my book is a female,
If her Husband was shot dead by a police officer, rightfully or wrongfully. Would that police officers name become public?

Many thanks,

TAD

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
A lot of people won't answer hypotheticals here, but I'm an author too so I'm sympathetic. However, in the US, I don't think there's really one answer to that question. There would be no law prohibiting that the officer be named, and ultimately it would be public information, but it's possible that it might be withheld during an investigation. Americans are nosy people and don't generally have much in the way of privacy laws.

TheAlmightyDada

Thank you very much, just out of interest… why won’t people answer “hypotheticals”?

Also, I couldn’t see it at a glance, but is there a part of the forum where I can just get to know some of the members a little better? That way I won’t feel like such a leech the whole time, and maybe people may warm to me :)

TAD

tranquility

Hello,

I am an Author, and I’m not even based in the US. So there will be many more questions than answers from me. I hope that's OK. I know some forums frown on that behaviour.

If her Husband was shot dead by a police officer, rightfully or wrongfully. Would that police officers name become public?

Many thanks,

TAD