• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Pro Se Plaintiff seeking advise and direction in civil suit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a pro se plaintiff attempting to prosecute a civil claim against a Massachusetts law enforcement for violation of mhy civil rights. I have attempted to secure counsel, however due to my financial means I am unable to. I understand the the process is lengthy, financially straining and the chance of recovery is slim - however I am willing to do what it takes to see that this right is wronged.

BACKROUND OF THE FACTS:

I was formerly a prisoner incarcerated in the custody of the Suffolk County Sheriffs Department, for a non-violent motor vehicle violation. (Operating on a revoked license). There was a pervasive risk of harm to my personal saftey, and the sheriffs department was aware of it and house me accordingly. The housing cell I was in had a defective locking mechanisim, which permitted the door to be manipulated and opened by anyone, including other prisoners, without a key and using an item a simple as a deck of cars or hair pick. The sheriffs department was aware of this, through my filing of institutional greivances and verbal conversations with officers. The sheriffs department failed to correct this defect or evaluate it in a timely manner. (Infact before the assault it was never fixed). Three months after the sheriffs department was first alerted to this issue, a prisoner manipulated the locking mechanisim and entered mhy cell, at a time the unit was locked down, and assaulted me - causing me to be hospitilized and reviewed for surgery.

A LITTLE ABOUT ME: