• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

slip and fell down the stairs

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

eyepressure

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? MN

I am a resident of California. I visited my daughter & her husband in MN for the summer. During my visit they were looking for a new place to stay. They found a 2 BR home they were interested in. They decided to go back and look at the house for a 2nd time. I decided to tag along. We stopped by the house and asked if we can look around again. During the showing of the house, I opened the basement door and fell down maybe 10 flight of stairs. I didn't realize there were stairs going down and I didn't turn on the lights. I just stepped in thinking it was a closet or another room. In California, we do not have alot of homes with basement levels. Anyways, I was in pain. The handyman asked if I needed an ambulance or needed transportation to the ER. Although in pain, I told him I might be okay. So I did not go to the hospotal. One month later I am still feeling a little soar. My son thinks I should pursue for pain and suffering. Do I have a claim? Is it worth my time to pursue for pain and suffering?Here are my concerns: 1) I was just tagging along and not the tenant or potential tenant. 2) I knew that the house was still under repair. The stairs was not broken, I was just not cautious. 3) I waited one month to bring up any issues with the landloard.

phase08

The handyman asked if I needed an ambulance or needed transportation to the ER. Although in pain, I told him I might be okay. So I did not go to the hospotal. One month later I am still feeling a little soar.
Ten flights of stairs? Really?!