• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

vehicular manslaughter without gross negligence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nijiz

What is the name of your state? CA

Last year I was involved in an accident where I was turning left and a motorcycle crashed into the rear right door of my SUV. The motorcycle had the right of the way because he was going straight. Unfortunately, the cyclist passed away. Now, I am being charged by the Orange County DA Vehicular manslaughter without gross negligence (125 (C) (2) ) and failing to yield to incoming traffic. I had no accident before, and I had no traffic ticket within the last three years. I had been driving the same road for the past two years. I am wondering if I plead guilty, what will the charge me? The other party has already reached a settlement with my insurance company on the civil side.

thank you for your help

garrula lingua

The Prosecutor can charge vehicular manslaughter as either a misdemeanor or a felony.

You are probably charged with a misdemeanor.

The maximum penalty is one year in county jail (max with 50% credit = six months jail).

Usually, there is no or minimum jail time in these cases.
Most sentences include classes and programs, fines, and community service. (DMV can have their own, separate consequences to your driving privilege).

They are tragic cases - the family of the deceased usually turn out in court ... the defendant usually has the look of a deer caught in headlights - they are heart-rending cases for everyone.

193. (a) Voluntary manslaughter is punishable by imprisonment in
the state prison for 3, 6, or 11 years.
(b) Involuntary manslaughter is punishable by imprisonment in the