• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

1031 exchange

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TrustUser

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? california

i may be making quite a bit of profit on sale of land. it qualifies for long-term capital gains, as i have had it for 4-5 years.

but i am possibly thinking of a 1031 exchange, which i have never done before.

from what i can tell, the property i buy must be identified within 45 days, and received within 180 days.

both properties will be in the usa.

if i am gonna buy another piece of property, i think i would prefer a residence in a reasonably good area.

this land is actually 4 residential lots, which a developer would be building houses.

is this land and a residential property considered to be "like-kind" properties ?

FlyingRon

I disagree. If you bought the first piece as an investment (as opposed as buying it to farm or develop of your personal residence and the new property is still a real estate investment property and not a residential property you're developing to live in (or your relatives) its would qualify. Land is land as far as like kind is concern even if the eventual developed use is different.

The other key thing is you can't receive any funds out of this or constructive use of them in the process of the transfer.

tranquility