• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Breaking lease in Virginia

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

T

tmar

I've been renting a 3-bedroom duplex for the last 5 years in Virginia, renewing Lease each year. I just signed a new Lease in March for another year. Last month, husband moved out (I only held a part-time job). I scrambled to get second job, but I STILL can't earn enough to stay here. Husband's name was not on Lease... only mine. My entire family lives in another state. There is no one here to help. I have to move back home and stay with family until I can get back on my feet. Can I legally break the Lease here? There is no way I can afford to stay. Thanks for any help.

P

Prairielaw

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tmar:
I've been renting a 3-bedroom duplex for the last 5 years in Virginia, renewing Lease each year. I just signed a new Lease in March for another year. Last month, husband moved out (I only held a part-time job). I scrambled to get second job, but I STILL can't earn enough to stay here. Husband's name was not on Lease... only mine. My entire family lives in another state. There is no one here to help. I have to move back home and stay with family until I can get back on my feet. Can I legally break the Lease here? There is no way I can afford to stay. Thanks for any help.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sorry to hear what you are going through. Unless there are some terms in the lease that provide you an out or the landlord has breached some term in the lease you may well be on the hook.